Many members of this forum have accused me of being unfair or foolish not to name names, so here it is. I give up all hope of ever solving this amicably, or at all.
"Scrappy" is his name here, and in other forums, including the one he operates called bucknakedpoker.com
His real name is Craig Hartigan. I purchased two websites which he advertised here on
PAW:
www.worldpokerforums.com (take a look..he promised he would fix it up)
and
www.carbonpokerforums.com
You can go back and read the ads and see that he promised to upgrade the sites for "free."
I paid him for both sites via paypal in the last week of April.
He seemed like a really nice guy - in the beginning. He *is* a really nice guy - in some ways.
But he has chosen to leave me dangling for over a month now, and I have lost money and credibility with at least one Poker Room which had approved what was supposed to be "my site", and which gave me a deal which is blown now.
Surely anybody should realize that you cannot take somebody's money and then try to justify not turning over the site for over one month, even when they are demanding it.
No matter what he thinks of me, he should have just given me
FTP access at least and let me download my sites.
Here is his emailed reply to the deadline I gave him, from this morning, and my reply:
Quote:
In a message dated 6/1/2007 12:16:35 P.M. Central Daylight Time, craigxxxxxxx@yahoo.com writes:The transfer email I recieved I forwarded to you. Correct me if I am wrong but you have the password they speak of therefore since you have already iniciated the transfer all you need to do is click the link in the email you had sent to me that I forwarded to you. Or another simple way is this. reply to this email with Name address email and i will transfer it today. Its a simple thing. And I want it done this is my 4th request for this info So lets get it over with. I have already explained this to you, but you do not read your emails.
You obtain the Authorization code from *your* registrar/host.
They will send it to the email you have listed as the contact: oxxxxxx@yahoo.com
You then forward it to me.
And you will also forward the email the Netfirms sends to that address.
You do not need any information from me.
Now, of course,. you could change the technical/administrative email to *my* email address by going into your account.
Very simple. Then the authorization code will come to me.
You continue to ignore my requests, and now my demands, that you turn over the websites to me.
That has nothing at all to do with the domain name registration.
I want the websites themselves, I have made this perfectly clear, over and over again.
And you ignore me.
{Personal comments edited by xpertadvice4u}
I don't want or need you to do any more work of any kind for me.
I asked you to just let me move on.
Instead, you choose to jerk me around, and you are about to destroy your reputation and ability to make money.
Go ahead...keep screwing me around.
You need to make arrangements with me for turning over total control of those websites by 4 pm today Pacific Time.
Do not be demanding information from me any more.
You need to be giving *ME* information....like the usernames and passwords to the server, or the FTP information for both sites....or a specific time and date when YOU will FTP these sites over to *my* server.
I don't care which way you do it.
You have until 4 pm YOUR time today.
I have given you enough chances.
|
He continues to ignore my requests.
At 3 pm
Pacific I sent him the following email, replying again to his previous email:
Quote:
In a message dated 6/1/2007 12:16:35 P.M. Central Daylight Time, craigxxxxxx@yahoo.com writes:And I want it done this is my 4th request for this info What *you* want is not the issue here, Craig: it is about what I paid for.
I have made a lot more requests for info than you have.
If you wanted it done, you would have shown the common decency to reply to my queries, and this would have been over with weeks ago.
You have one hour, Craig.
How and when do I get my websites?
That is a pretty simple question for you.
You now have less than an hour to come up with the answer.
|
I contacted his domain registrar/host, and verified with them that all he had to do was change the administrative/technical contacts, and I would automatically receive the Authorization codes for transfering the domain.
However, he keeps diverting the issue to the
domain transfer:
I want my websites' files, after having paid hundreds of dollars.
I want my websites on *my* server, which I have been paying for all along.
I will likely never get these sites....especially not now.
But I reconciled myself to the fact that I have been taken for a chump some time ago....and I deserve it for ignoring the warning signs....of which there were several.
You'll notice his most recent post was asking for help regarding an article submission site he set up...a site he set up using software I introduced him to so that he could add it to *my* sites. He is posting on this issue while he is claiming he has no time to talk to me because his father is ill.
I gave him access to my server, and he saw all my domains, and the proposed pages for an international poker site which talked about providing a
community for "poker players from all over the world."
Lo and behold, while he was refusing to reply to my many emails - supposedly too busy with a family illness - he found time to completely change his Home Page. LOL
Suddenly, it reads:
"Welcome to Buck Naked Poker. Our goal since the start of this site has been to have a place for poker players from around the world to meet and be part of a true community of friends."
Oh, really? "From the start of the site..." *that* was his site's goal? Funny, it did not say that *before* he started "helping" me. Up to that point, his sole method of promotion was pandering to "freeroll whores" at various sites.
I wonder why he feels he has to broadcast that this was the goal "From the start of the site." Like maybe he anticipated having to defend this change?
So, what attempts has he made to advertise his site to the rest of the world??? or to reach out to other nationalities?
The same effort he has put into giving me what he was paid for over a month ago.
Nada. (Maybe one of the international players that have been on his website since the beginning can translate that for him)
Take a visit to his forum, and see if you can see any evidence of an international theme.
If he ever does reply here, I would like sombody else to just ask him:
"Why didn't you just give the guy a zipped copy of the files or burn them on a dvd and be done with it, or let him FTP his files?"
Good question. I have been asking it for over a month.
And he won't tell me.
Last point:
Go back and look at his threats to withdraw all of his help from
PAW's forums, back on March 21:
03-21-2007, 06:39 AM
|
scrappy
Junior Member
| | Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 20
|
|
What is this guy talking about?
What does he mean about emails? I dont get it. This is the crap I seem to have to deal with if I offer to help out. Do they have mods here? If someone cant explain this will be my last visit here. Sorry to all that would of appreciated the help but you will need to contact me through my forum.
www.bucknakedpoker.com my name is scrappy there
|
The people who would have appreciated the help would be just plain S.O.L. Just like me. He promised he would provide help and upgrade the sites once I bought them. Then he told me he did not owe me anything, and stopped responding to emails.
Told me it seemed "pointless."
(LOL...Graham has said the same thing about my posts!)
Thanks for the voices of support many of you offered.
If anybody knows a way I can get my sites off of his server at Godaddy, please PM me.