Go Back   Poker Affiliate Programs - Affiliate Community for Poker Affiliates > Poker Affiliate Programs - Discussions for Poker Affiliates > General Poker Affiliate Discussion
Register VBay [0] FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Poker Affiliate Discussion The Largest Poker Affiliate Forum in The World. Poker Affiliates, Discuss Poker Affiliate Programs and issues facing the Poker Affiliate Industry Here!

Reply
 
Social Bookmarking Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 02:18 PM
gtycoon's Avatar
gtycoon gtycoon is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 706
Thanks: 10
Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via AIM to gtycoon Send a message via Skype™ to gtycoon
Default liveactionpoker.com stealing content

Hello,
I suggest that every affiliate take a look at Liveactionpoker.com and see if they are stealing your content. They destroyed one of my sites on google the other day by using identical content of my second larget sites. I've know the owner of this company to be a spammer for 3 years now. Hi have posted in SEO section.


Liveactionpoker.com is it messing up my serps?

This is pic of content on their site exactly how I had it on mine with links , banners, all identical.


This set me back two years!
__________________
Poker Affiliate
Poker SEO, consulting, poker site creation, and more.
Poker Blog
Poker Social Network
Poker Domains
Wiki Poker
Cheap Poker Domains
***pal friendly, 24/7 customer service. Hosting too! Just a traveling man on my way.


Last edited by gtycoon : 04-20-2008 at 02:21 PM. Reason: forgot
Reply With Quote
  #2 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 03:17 PM
mikebrad mikebrad is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 751
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

yeah, it's a splog or whatever you call it. How did it set you back 2 years?
Reply With Quote
  #3 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 04:02 PM
pokerkeith's Avatar
pokerkeith pokerkeith is offline
SNG Stud
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it possible to contact his host and let them know what he's doing?
__________________
PokerKeith.com - Tips, terms, and my personal online stats
Poker Terms
Reply With Quote
  #4 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 04:09 PM
imteaz imteaz is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 858
Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

yes contact his host and complain, they will take the site down.
Reply With Quote
  #5 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 04:25 PM
punchtheclock's Avatar
punchtheclock punchtheclock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 306
Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Just curious, how often have the members here found this to be a problem...both the copying of content...and google shafting you for duplicate content?

Does google just take your page out of the index?
Reply With Quote
  #6 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 04:28 PM
PPP PPP is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Two threads seems one too many for this, but again, aren't you inviting people to use your content by providing a feed? Isn't that what all those big sites do, provide a feed and give credit?

If you don't want others to use your content, shouldn't you not provide them a feed?

Liveactionpoker has been around seven years or so and has always acted responsibly towards other people and sites. They include the ability to remove your blog from their site. They do seem to now have it part of their site promotion to use poker blog feeds, but again, isn't that the point? (And providing such a feed seems like a crazy thing, unless you like having duplicate content like this for some reason.)

===
"Content distributors syndicate a web feed, thereby allowing users to subscribe to it. Making a collection of web feeds accessible in one spot is known as aggregation..."

"Feeds are a way for websites large and small to distribute their content well beyond just visitors using browsers. Feeds permit subscription to regular updates, delivered automatically via a web portal..."
===

Liveactionpoker is aggregating web feeds they have subscribed to, and are displaying them on their portal. From my reading anyway, this seems to be exactly how things are supposed to work.
Reply With Quote
  #7 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 05:32 PM
LadyHoldem's Avatar
LadyHoldem LadyHoldem is offline
Mouthy American Girl
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 33
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Send a message via MSN to LadyHoldem Send a message via Yahoo to LadyHoldem Send a message via Skype™ to LadyHoldem
Default

Feeds are there to be added to feed readers, so like iGoogle, or feedburner, or wherever you as a news reader would like to read your news.

It is a misconception that they are there to be used by other webmasters, and in most cases, since you can control the feeds lenth, and include live links, most don't mind if you feed off there websites.

As for how often, almost every news article i've ever written is spam blogged on at least one site.
Reply With Quote
  #8 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 05:52 PM
PPP PPP is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I don't see how it is a misconception. Feedburner calls making feeds available in one spot an aggregation. That's what they are doing, displaying an aggregation on a web portal.
Reply With Quote
  #9 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 05:56 PM
LadyHoldem's Avatar
LadyHoldem LadyHoldem is offline
Mouthy American Girl
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 33
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Send a message via MSN to LadyHoldem Send a message via Yahoo to LadyHoldem Send a message via Skype™ to LadyHoldem
Default

Feedburner is optional, you have to sign up to participate.
Reply With Quote
  #10 ()  
Old 04-20-2008, 06:00 PM
PPP PPP is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 20 Posts
Default

That's what happened here. He signed up for feedburner, and this is the result.

It appears you can "noindex" your feed, so this won't be an issue
http://blogs.feedburner.com/feedburn...ol_3_seo_1.php
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Is Better? A Static Or A Dynamic Site? sooty General Poker Affiliate Discussion 10 08-18-2008 01:27 AM
deipoker.com/ Stealing My content jcap1p General Poker Affiliate Discussion 9 12-19-2007 02:43 PM
Sizzz, Please Stop Stealing Content ThePokerBank General Poker Affiliate Discussion 46 11-07-2007 12:49 PM
framed content, sitemaps, spiders xpertadvice4u Search Engine Optimization 1 02-09-2007 01:49 PM
Stealing content without a backlink.... Flopster General Poker Affiliate Discussion 14 02-17-2006 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Copyright 2008 PokerAffiliatePrograms.com


SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0